Green Jobs

Increasing the tree canopy in under-served urban neighborhoods goes hand-in-hand with green jobs and workforce development.


Tree Care Careers: Good for Our Communities

“This industry is filled with multimillionaries who started out with pick-up trucks”. – Mark Garvin, TCIA

 

Due to the serious shortage of skilled arborists nationwide, the Tree Care Industry Association — and California Tree Care companies — have made workforce development a top priority.

 

California ReLeaf believes this is an excellent opportunity for community‐based urban forest programs to bring trees to all of our urban neighborhoods AND information about job opportunities and tree care training. Having tree care employees earning a steady income in all of our communities will help improve the “tree literacy” of the neighborhood as well its economic vitality.

Here’s the new website launched by the Tree Care Industry Association about being an arborist in summer 2017:

http://outsidecareers.org/

 

 

While teaching students to plant trees…

Middle School: Share that this is a potential career.

High School: If a student becomes highly engaged in tree planting, you can point them to the various training options: directly with a tree care company or through the community college programs such as the Tree Care & Maintenance certificate program at Mt. San Antonio College in Walnut or the Associate of Arts degree program currently in development at Merritt College in Oakland — and potentially Mt. SAC as well.

 

Important Educational Resources for potential job seekers

Community Colleges: Arboriculture programs are expected to roll out Fall 2018.

Merritt College, Dept. of Horticulture:
Laura Forlin: Tel: (510) 436‐2418 Email: lforlin@peralta.edu

Mt. San Antonio College (Mt. SAC), Dept. of Horticulture:
Brian Scott: Tel: (909) 274‐4539 Email: bscott@mtsac.edu

Tree Care Companies with Career Paths and Training Programs:

A Plus Tree, Inc. ‐ offices in NorCal, SoCal, and San Diego
Chad Brey: Tel (510) 593‐9414 Email: cbrey@aplustree.com

 

Arborwell ‐ offices in the Bay Area, SoCal, and San Diego
Cindy Kirkman: Tel : (510) 606‐1200 Email: ckirkman@arborwell.com

 

Davey Tree Expert Company ‐ offices throughout the state
Andrew Misch: Tel: (916) 350‐0525 Email: andrew.misch@davey.com

 

West Coast Arborists, Inc. ‐ offices throughout the state
Joe Bartolo: Tel: (714) 412‐7656 Email: jbartolo@wcainc.com

 


njtreesworkerGreen Jobs Information & Resources


 

Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInShare on RedditEmail this to someone
© 2014 California ReLeaf | 2115 J Street, Suite 213, Sacramento, CA 95816 | Privacy Policy